Before you depart, PLEASE fill out an activity report and report your publications to KITP. The KITP needs feedback from the community: this not only serves help to improve and develop our services; it also provides an evaluation tool that is crucial to our continued funding.

Any manuscript for which the KITP's facilities are used, and any research which is started and/or completed at the KITP should have the following acknowledgment: This research was supported in part by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. NSF PHY11-25915. Please also list the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics as an institutional affiliation, if at all possible.

Go to current week.⬇

Week 13
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Dec 5
11am
Aud
Zlatko Papic
Quantum Integrability from the Entanglement Spectrum

Tues, Dec 6
10am
Aud
Misha Lukin
Discussion on quantum dynamics

Wed, Dec 7
10am
Aud
Ignacio Cirac
TBA

Fri, Dec 9
10am
Aud
Mike Kolodrubetz
Discussion on Floquet systems

Fri, Dec 9
11am
Aud
Nayana Shah, Carlos Bolech
Consistent bosonization-debosonization

Fri, Dec 9
3.30pm
Aud
Jinwu Ye
Discussion on Strongly interacting spinor bosons or fermions with spin orbit couplings


Week 12
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Nov 28
11am
Aud
Jun Ye
Spin-orbit coupled fermions in an optical lattice clock

Tues, Nov 29
10am
Aud
Jutho Haegeman
Continuous matrix product states and the Quantum Gross-Pitaevskii Equation

Wed, Nov 30
10am
Aud
Ady Stern
Pairing in Luttinger liquids and Quantum Hall state

Thurs, Dec 1
10am
Aud
Sergey Frolov
Quantum simulation with Andreev dot chains: towards the Kitaev model








Week 11
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Nov 21
10am
Aud
Vlad Manucharyan
Towards analog quantum simulations of many-body models with a Josephson transmission line

Tues, Nov 22
10am
Aud
Ronny Thomale
High-temperature topological insulators


Week 9
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Nov 7
11am
Aud
All participants
Organizational meeting

Tues, Nov 8
10am
Aud
Roger Melko
Machine learning for many body systems

Wed, Nov 9
10am
Aud
Peter Zoller
Lattice Gauge Theories and Cold Atoms

Wed, Nov 9
2pm
MSR
Lars Brink
KITP Colloquium: Alfred Nobel and the Nobel prizes

Wed, Nov 9
3.30pm
SSR
Eddie Farhi
The Quantum Approximate Optimization Algorithm: A Good Choice for Near Term Quantum Computers

Fri, Nov 11
11am
Aud
All particpants
Discussion


Week 8
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Oct 31
11am
Aud
All participants
Organizational meeting

Tues, Nov 1
10am
Aud
David Goldhaber-Gordon
Emergent symmetries in quantum impurities built from quantum dots

Wed, Nov 2
10am
Aud
Matthew Fisher
Quantum Brain

Thurs, Nov 3
10.30am
Aud
Matthew Fisher
Informal talk: Quantum Effects in Rotating Molecules in Liquids

Thurs, Nov 3
3.30pm
Aud
Leticia Cugliandolo, Mark Rudner
Informal talk: Spin Glasses and Quantum Annealing

Fri, Nov 4
11am
Aud
All particpants
Discussion


Week 7
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Oct 24
11am
Aud
All participants
Organizational meeting

Mon, Oct 24
3.30pm
Aud
Wen Wei Ho,
Dominic Else
Informal talk: Prethermalization in Floquet many-body systems without disorder

Tues, Oct 25
10am
Aud
Jacob Taylor
Creating and examining quantum matter with microwave photons

Wed, Oct 26
10am
Aud
Leticia Cugliandolo
Effective temperatures: from glassy systems to generalized Gibbs ensembles

Thurs, Oct 27
10am
Aud
Manuel Endres
Atom-by-atom assembly of defect-free one-dimensional cold atoms arrays

Thurs, Oct 27
3.30pm
Aud
Peter Zoller, Darrick Chang
Informal discussion: Open quantum many-body systems

Fri, Oct 28
11am
Aud
All participants
Discussion








Week 6
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Wed, Oct 19
3:30-5pm
Aud
Jeremy Levy
Synthesizing quantum matter using complex oxides








Week 5
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Oct 10
11am - 12pm
Aud
All participants
Organizational meeting and discussion
We ask newly arrived participants to give a 5-minute description of a research problem they are excited about and which they would like to discuss with other participants during the program. We ask all participants to suggest topics for the Friday discussion
Mon, Oct 10
3pm
SSR
Vincent Liu
Informal discussion: center-of-mass p+ip-wave fermion pairing

Tues, Oct 11
10 - 11 am
Aud
Ian Spielman
Topological transition from a non-Abelian Yang monopole

Wed, Oct 12
10 - 11am
Aud
Curt von Keyserlingk
The pi spin-glass/time crystal phase

Wed, Oct 12
1.30pm
Aud
Immanuel Bloch
Informal talk: Many-body localization

Thurs, Oct 13
10 - 11am
Aud
Adolfo Grushin
Signatures of inhomogeneous Weyl semi-metals

Thurs, Oct 13
3.30pm
Aud
Peter Zoller
Informal discussion: Nano-scale dark state optical potentials for cold atoms

Fri, Oct 14
11am
Aud
All participants
Discussion



Week 4
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Oct 3
11 am
Aud
All participants
Introduction and discussions

Tues, Oct 4
10 - 11 am
Aud
Oskar Painter
Integrated optomechanical and superconducting quantum circuits

Wed, Oct 5
10 - 11am
Aud
Mark Fischer
Dynamics of a Many-Body-Localized system coupled to a Markovian bath









Week 3
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Sep 26
12:15 pm
Aud
Joe Carlson
Director's Blackboard Lunch: Constructing and Deconstructing Neutron Stars

Tues, Sep 27
10 - 11 am
Aud
Arijeet Pal
Aspects of dynamical nuclear polarization in GaAs double quantum dots

Wed, Sep 28
10 - 11am
Aud
Mohammed Hafezi
Out-of-equilibrium dynamics and topological edge state of photons

Thurs, Sep 29
10 - 11am
Aud
Christiane P. Koch
Controlling open quantum systems: Tools, achievements, limitations









Week 2
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Tues, Sep 20
10 - 11 am
Aud
Jens Eisert
Synthetic quantum systems out of equilibrium (and the quest for quantum supremacy for quantum simulators)

Wed, Sep 21
10 - 11am
Aud
Sid Parameswaran
Quantum Critical Entanglement in Highly Excited States
PRL 114, 217201,
PRB 93, 134207
Wed, Sep 21
3.30pm - 4.30pm
Aud
Brayden Ware
Discussion: "Majorana-dimer" models and fermionic topological phases
PRB 94, 115127
Thurs, Sep 22
10 - 11am
Aud
Romain Vasseur
Symmetry constraints far from equilibrium








Week 1
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Tue, Sep 13
2 - 3pm
SSR
all participants
organizational meeting

Tue, Sep 13
3:30 - 4:30pm
Aud
Hans-Peter Buechler
Topological states in a microscopic model of interacting fermions

Wed, Sep 14
11 - Noon
Aud
Paul Fendley
Strong zero modes: what they are and what they're good for

Thur, Sep 15
10 - 11am
Aud
Monika Schleier-Smith
Scrambling or Preserving Quantum Information with Cold Atoms and Light

Fri, Sep 16
10 - 11am
Aud
Maissam Barkeshli
Creating and manipulating topologically protected degeneracies through gapped boundaries








*Aud=Auditorium, SSR=Small Seminar Room, MSR=Main Seminar Room FR=Founders' Room
⬆TOP